New Decks… or Deck the halls?

Lupe Decks

The holiday season is upon us, which usually means a big time slow down in productivity and new projects. I chose to take that trend as a sign this year to do some things I normally don’t have time to do. I almost never take on spec work, but like I said, I sorta had the time. And I thought this sounded like a fun project. So the boards you see were created for a joint contest held by Element skateboards, Vapors magazine and Lupe Fiasco.

Lupe has a new album coming out called, “The Cool”, which all of the above hosts have decided to create a limited edition skate deck to commemorate. I thought some heraldic crest work mixed with a repetitive pattern would compliment some of the imagery I was provided with nicely. I chose to illustrate a portrait of Lupe for the crest because… who wouldn’t want their own face on their custom board?

Hope it’s well liked and if anyone is interested in a bit of a tutorial on how I went about creating the artwork for these boards, leave me a comment and if there’s any demand, I’ll put one together. Oh, and I had to create a profile on imeem to post these designs, which is basically Myspace, but tricked out – so if anyone reading this is one there, hit me up.
Purple Deck Graphics

Green Lupe Board

~ by tracksix on December 14, 2007.

One Response to “New Decks… or Deck the halls?”

  1. woa, my store didn’t get these in stock. I like them a lot.

Leave a Reply

 
