Good For Pummeling

Beveled lettering illustration

Just finished up this tee graphic for Globe. This is one of those projects that I started not knowing where I was going to end up. I began with the lettering and transforming the Globe “G” logo into a 3D, beveled entity. The lettering finished up looking like seriously heavy duty iron so I felt an equally heavy-duty backer. I kinda knew the only weapon that’d make me happy to see behind this chunky beast was everyone’s favorite bludgeoning tool, the mace. The chain i originally constructed was alright, but after I realized that using the “O” as a chain link would tie the illustration back to the lettering and make for a gnarly, beefy link I gave it a shot and what do you know, looks pretty badass.

I think I’ll provide the chain pattern brush as a freebie. That was you can play with it and see how I made it and use it to beef up something of yours.

By the way, if you guys that read this, if you have any requests for freebies go ahead and let me know (via comments). I’m always trying to think of stuff to give away – so if I have some ideas of what people would like I’d be more gung-ho about getting it out there.

~ by tracksix on July 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “Good For Pummeling”

  1. I am trying to learn aws much as possible about design. How did you do that I am very interested. Your work is very good

  2. Thank you for the compliment. The lettering starts with a base letterform, could be from a font or an original source, then I draw a center line through each letter and begin to shade it using some vector art brushes and a lot of black shapes. Then I go back and add outlines to give the letters a 3D, beveled appearance. Everything else is drawn right in Illustrator. Some use shapes and some I go at with either the pen or pencil tool and some lineart brushes to shade it all.
    Sounds overtly vague doesn’t it? If I slow down a bit I’ll try to write up a full fledged tutorial on some of the most important aspects of it all. If you have any specific questions though, shoot me an email and I’ll try to answer what I can.

Leave a Reply

 
