Corpo Reality Check

knch_logos

I sometimes consider the decision I made nearly two years ago to leave the ad agency biz and dize into the world of freelance and action sports. Every once in a while I get a reminder as to why I’m so much happier doing what I’m doing now than when I was desiging for companies I feel nothing for. A recent dip back into the corporate realm sent just such a reminder my way.

Above you’ll notice a couple of the many logo marks I developed for a law (defense) firm. This was a design-by-committee project, so the client took the designs I came up with and forwarded them on to a group that decides which, if any of the logos they like.

knch_round_logo

We did some back and forth and after a couple of rounds and my unwillingness to pursue them, they didn’t feel strongly enough about any of the designs to go ahead and replace their current logo.

business_stationery

Client's Current Logo

Though, it can be frustrating not to see a design project through to fruition, I got the chance to work on a new style of lettering which I turned out to like the results of,

The Process of Custom Lettering

The Process of Custom Lettering

And I was reminded why I always require a 50% up front deposit, and why I love working for the surf and skate industry!

~ by tracksix on March 1, 2009.

One Response to “Corpo Reality Check”

  1. I feel the same way you do about corporate Fuks. Good stuff though.

Leave a Reply

 
