The Moistketeers

Defender_tee_mockup

What’s the most disgusting word in the english dictionary? Well, many, including me, would agree that there’s something about the word, “moist” that just sends gross feelings creeping up your spine..  So that was the feeling of the crew from Pennsylvania that rang me lookin for a musketeer sorta graphic that they could be proud of. I know.. Musketeers are french, which instantaneously makes them uncool and pretty faggy, but no one said that uncool and/or faggy was a direction to avoid on this little jobby, so we’re good. In fact the most inspiring direct quote from the client was in fact this; “I’m hoping your mental imagery of a musketeer is somewhat as badass as Chuck Norris kicking the shit out of Kanye West..” Sir, I don’t know if such great heights can be achieved from behind a computer screen, but I should hope that you think I’ve made every effort to try.

moistketeers_proof

The fun part about this illustration for me was breaking out of the rut I’ve sorta been in and trying a totally new approach. While it took me way longer to finish this than it should have, I feel like I stepped up my raster art game a couple times over. Freehandin’ it with the Wacom overall was kinda fun, though rather frustrating at times… could be because I dug up the old 4×6 baby tablet I discarded long ago. It’s definitely got me considering a new one if I can ever afford it.

~ by tracksix on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
